Capital City: Paramaribo  Region: South America
View Map

Nearby:  French Guiana Guyana Venezuela Brazil Colombia 
Claim your $35 Airbnb Credit by Clicking Here!

Suriname Photos

Suriname Videos

Videos accessed using Youtube API. Read their Privacy Policy

Suriname Info

Capital City: Paramaribo
Suriname, formerly the colony of Netherlands Guiana or Dutch Guiana, is a country in Northern South America. It has a North Atlantic Ocean coastline in the north and is surrounded by French Guiana to the east, Brazil to the south and Guyana to the west. It is the smallest independent country on the South American continent. The relatively small population lives mostly along the coast.


Tropical; moderated by trade winds; yearly rain average 2200 mm. There are 2 dry seasons (February to March, August to November) and 2 rainy seasons (December to January, April to August). November is the generally the hottest month.


Mostly rolling hills, rising towards maximum of around 1000 meters in the south; narrow coastal plain with mangrove swamps. Mostly tropical rain forest; great diversity of flora and fauna that is in excellent condition, though is increasingly threatened by new development.
 ▪  Highest point: Juliana Top 1,230m

Suriname Links